You’ve probably seen the slogan, “Turn it Down, Keep it Down,” about a new Florida law that went into effect on July 1, 2022. It refers to the loud music coming from your vehicle.
Since the law went into effect, there have been some misconceptions about what it means. For example, some people thought the law only forbids loud music from vehicles after a particular hour at night.
Florida’s Loud Music Law
The new loud music law states that you can’t have music audible at a distance of 25 feet or greater. A person violating the law can be subject to a traffic citation.
Here’s how the first part of the statute reads:
It is unlawful for any person operating or occupying a motor vehicle on a street or highway to operate or amplify the sound produced by a radio, tape player, or other mechanical sound-making device or instrument from within the motor vehicle so that the sound is:
- (a) Plainly audible at a distance of 25 feet or more from the motor vehicle; or
- (b) Louder than necessary for the convenient hearing by persons inside the vehicle in areas adjoining churches, schools, or hospitals.
A violation of this section is a noncriminal traffic infraction, punishable as a nonmoving violation.
If your music from your sound system is so loud that other people can hear, you’re probably in violation. The days of having an extensive sound system so powerful that the trunk hinges vibrate are over.
The law also means you can’t blast your music in a parking lot or drive-thru, or you will be in violation. Also, anytime you are operating a vehicle, day or night, you must keep it down.
Newsletter: Make sure you signup for the Sebastian Daily Newsletter to stay informed with everything going on in Sebastian, Florida.