Indian River County Sheriff Candidates for the 2020 Primary Election

2020 Indian River County Sheriff Candidates

We contacted each of the five Indian River County Sheriff candidates for a bio and asked them why they feel they are the best for the position.

It looks like we have some great candidates in the running.

There are four Republicans and one Democrat running for office. The Republican primaries will be next month.

Major Eric Flowers
Major Eric Flowers

Major Eric Flowers Bio – Republican

I began my career with the Indian River County Sheriff’s Office in 2003, after being moved to serve my community following the attacks of September 11, 2001. I am a graduate of Sebastian River High School and hold a Bachelor of Business Administration degree from Stetson University, and a Master of Science in Criminal Justice from the University of Central Florida. Additionally, I am a doctoral candidate in the College of Health and Public Affairs, also at U.C.F.; I am a graduate of the 270th session of the Federal Bureau of Investigation’s National Academy program, Leadership Indian River, and Leadership Florida’s Connect Class IX. In 2019, I was honored to be named one of the 40 Under 40 Awardees from the International Association of Chiefs of Police. I was the first member of a Florida sheriff’s office to receive this distinction.

I have served the citizens of Indian River County as a patrol deputy, a field-training officer, S.W.A.T. team and honor guard member, undercover detective, detective sergeant, lieutenant of public affairs, Major of the Bureau of Administration, and now in my current role as the Major of the Bureau of Law Enforcement. Additionally, I serve as the spokesperson and public information officer for the Indian River County Sheriff’s Office.